Advertisements

Dropbox Tour: To Keep Learning, Click Cancel

After copying a Digital Machinist column to my Dropbox folder, I went to the site to get the link, discovered they improved the UI, declined a Flash-based tour of the new features, and got this baffling confirmation dialog:

Dropbox - tour exit dialog

Dropbox – tour exit dialog

So. Many. Wrongs.

Advertisements

  1. #1 by TravelingServiceMan on 2017-05-06 - 07:59

    There is an awesome German word for such things, “Verschlimmbesserung”. It fits so well, so often.

    • #2 by Ed on 2017-05-07 - 13:27

      Google Translate says “disimprovement”… along the same lines as “cheapnification”, methinks!

  2. #3 by Andrew on 2017-05-07 - 02:39

    Similar and very very annoying example…Try to delete an “kinda core” unwanted Android app, say Facebook. The phone’s response is not a rejection. Nope. It’s something like “Would you like to revert to the factory original code?” Say, what?

    • #4 by Ken Davidson on 2017-05-07 - 09:00

      That means it’s bloatware that is built into the phone and can’t be deleted. Any updates to the program that have been downloaded and installed can be removed, but the base app can’t be.

Spam comments vanish. Comment moderation may cause a delay.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s